See Kate Run

Just another WordPress.com weblog

  • January 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec    
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

An ode to my dislike of treadmills…

Posted by seekaterun on January 29, 2009

For the last week I have been running on the treadmill at the Y.  I hate it.  I have to put a towel over the time screen, otherwise I will stop after 15 minutes.  The one good thing is that the treadmills in the back face a TV that is usually tuned to MSNBC.  So I can watch “Countdown” or Rachel Maddow with the closed captioning on.  That seems to help the time pass.

So what are my stats?  I usually jog at a pace of 5.2 mph.  Cause let’s be honest. 5.2 mph is jogging.  And I usually do it for 35 minutes total.  I walk for 3 minutes, jog for 27 and then walk for 5 more.  Friday (the next day I can get to the gym) my goal is to jog for 30 minutes without walking in the middle.  That’s only 3 minutes more.  Can’t be that hard, right?

In February, I need to get out to Spring Lake and start jogging around the lake.  Its one thing to run on a treadmill that is flat.  Hills and pavement are a whole other story… (yikes!)

Leave a Reply

 
